Book Journaling

3.15.10 at 5:02 PM (Books)

Several months ago during one my countless excursions to Barnes & Noble, I came across a book journal, Book Lust, and thought it would be a good purchase.  However, I was still in school at the time and being an English major, I was consumed with at least five books at any given point.  Thus, I really didn’t have any time for chronicling reads…especially since I wasn’t really reading any for leisure.  However, now that I am not in school (for a short time, at least), I plan to work on filling up the journal, and most likely here as well.

Since I have so many books that I haven’t opened yet (mainly because of school, not because of neglect, because honestly, who could stand to neglect books?), I’ve taken to reading multiple books at the same time.  Thus, it is taking an extremely long amount of time before I make it through any of them.  So here is a list of what I am reading now, as well as what I will be starting on my next day off (Thursday…my one and only day off this week):

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison (Book 1 in the Hollows Series); Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (Alice is an obsession of mine); and to be re-read as of Thursday, The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger.

As the small list suggests, I have a wide range of genres from which I like to read.  Catcher is probably going to get all marked up this time around…and I hope to make tons of notes about it in my journaling of it.  I’m a bit focused on organizing classics for when I finally start teaching….But I digress.  Here is what I’ve recently finished reading:

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick; Evermore & Blue Moon by Alyson Noel (Immortals Series 1 & 2).

Both of the two authors that I just finished reading were writing within the same genre…which I would probably classify as sci-fi/fantasy.  Hush, Hush however, was full of suspense.  Each time I thought I knew where Fitzpatrick was gonna go, she flipped the story so fast, I had no idea who to trust.  The ending totally blew me away.  The Immortals series was similar, maybe a little more predictable, but not necessarily.  Really, the difference was that I found myself trying not to figure out what would happen next in those books.  I’m not sure why, but I think because I was on the same wavelength as the main character.  Hmph…more on these books later.  They will likely have their own posts, but I am still organizing my thoughts on them.

Leave a Reply

